Two Congress MLAs expelled from Telangana Assembly

Two Congress MLAs expelled from Telangana Assembly

13 news, 3

The Telangana Assembly on Tuesday disqualified two senior Congress legislators Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and SA Sampath Kumar for their unruly behaviour during Governor ESL Narasimhans address to the joint session of Assembly on Monday.Eleven Congress members including floor leader K Jana Reddy were also placed under suspension for the current budget session that began Monday.The Lawmakers stand expelled from the House for the rest of the period of the current Assembly which will last till April-May next year.

Komatireddy Venkat Reddy was seen on Assembly footage throwing headphones at the Governor. The headphone hit Council chairman Swamy Goud. He suffered an injury in his right eye. The move came after ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) party fully supported the action on the Congress members. However BJP floor leader G Kishen Reddy objected to the suspension of K Jana Reddy.

On Tuesday, Legislative Affairs Minister T Harish Rao moved the motion for disqualification of the two Congress members under provisions of clause 3 of Article 194 of the Constitution of India. Assembly Speaker Madhusudhanachary announced the disqualification of the two members for the rest of the Assembly period and suspension of the 11 members from service of the House for the current session. K Jana Reddy, N Uttam Kumar Reddy, J Geetha Reddy, DK Aruna, Madh...

    More on