Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians to start IPL 11, match timings retained

Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians to start IPL 11, match timings retained

8 news, 5

Chennai Super Kings will take on defending champions Mumbai Indians to kick-start the 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) season, which has retained its earlier match timings, weeks after considering broadcaster's request for a change in schedule.

The first match on April 7 will be held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, which will also see the return of two-time winners CSK from a two-year ban owing to involvement in corruption.

The venues for eliminator and qualifier 2 have not been confirmed yet while the qualifier 1 and the final will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 22 and 27 respectively.

As per the fixtures posted on the IPL website today, there will be 48 evening matches and 12 afternoon starts.

The double headers timings remained unchanged, while the opening ceremony will take place in Mumbai on April 6.

The IPL governing council had last month accepted the broadcaster Star Sports' request to shift the timings of the matches.

The broadcaster had recommended that the second match of the day start at 7 pm instead of the earlier 8 pm, while pushing 4 pm match to a 5.30 pm start.

However, a section of franchises who are 50 percent stakeholders in the IPL revenue model, expressed their grievances with the change in timings as it was done without consulting them.

An early start would have meant an early conclusion to the matches in the night, ensuring prime...

    More on