Counting of votes for Rajasthan bypolls to three seats tomorrow

Counting of votes for Rajasthan bypolls to three seats tomorrow

34 news, 4

JAIPUR/KOLKATA: Congress took an early lead in all two Rajasthan Lok Sabha seats of Ajmer, Alwar, while BJP established a lead in Maldalgarh assembly constituency, as counting for bypolls began on Thursday morning. Meanwhile, Trinamool took an early lead in all West Bengal seats.

In the first round of counting, Trinamool candidate gets 7329 votes followed by Left candidate Gargi Chaterjee gets 2290 votes. BJP candidate Gautam Bose is at third spot while, Congress gets 1503votes. NOTA gets 234 votes.

In Rajasthan, bypoll results will be announced for two Lok Sabha constituencies – Ajmer and Alwar, and one Assembly seat – Mandalgarh. In West Bengal, the counting will be held for Uluberia Lok Sabha and Noapara Assembly seats in West Bengal.

The voting in all the five constituencies in two states was held on Monday, January 29, 2018. A total of 42 candidates in fray for three seats in Rajasthan while 13 candidates are in the fray for two seats in West Bengal.

The bypolls on all the three Rajasthan seats were necessitated after the sudden death of BJP MPs Sanwarlal Jat from Ajmer, Mahant Chand Nath Yogi from Alwar, and MLA Kirti Kumari from Mandalgarh.

In West Bengal, bypolls were held after the death of sitting Trinamool MP Sultan Ahmed from Uluberia and Congress MLA Madhusudan Ghose from the Noapara.

Uluberia Lok Sabha seat witnessed 76 per cent voter turnout, while 75.3 per ce...

    More on