Chhattisgarh polls: Raman Singh, Bhupesh Baghel, Ajit Jogi and other key candidates in the fray for upcoming elections

With the first phase of the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections are just a few days away, all major parties have finalised their candidates' lists and expedited campaign in their respective constituencies. The election to the 90 seats in the state are scheduled to be held on 12 and 20 November, making Chhattisgarh the only state this time where voting will be held in two phases.

The alliance between former chief minister Ajit Jogi's Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC) and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) made headlines when she announced it in September. The Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded their power players from their strongholds.

Rahul Gandhi's party is seeking to oust the saffron party in the state, where it has been in power since 2003 under Chief Minister Raman Singh.

Although the BJP had formed the government in Chhattisgarh for the third time with 49 of the 90 seats, the Congress (39 seats) had succeeded in narrowing the vote share. It had grabbed 40.3 percent of the votes, marginally lower than the BJP's 41 percent.

As the Congress and BJP as well as the JCC-BSP-Communist Party of India (CPI) alliance have all released the final lists of the candidates, here are some of the key players in the fray:

The BJP leader has enjoyed three terms as the chief minister of the state — 2003-2008, 2008-2013 and 2013-present. Singh is the second chief minister aft...

More on